Valentine’s Day at EDSA Beverage Design Group (EDSA BDG)

One of the many machines that  get regular use in the shop.
One of the many machines that get regular use in the shop.

If you have ever chanced upon my Instagram (IG: kipaguirre) feed, you will know that I frequent EDSA BDG whenever I have a free weekend afternoon. The place is perfect for me to escape the hustle and bustle of the house and work on photos in peace. One of the reasons why I love going to the place (other than the fact that it is just a short drive from the house) is that the coffee is pretty cheap for the quality that you get.

Of veils and reflections.
Of veils and reflections.
Extra comfortable couch in the cordoned off room.
Extra comfortable couch in the cordoned off room.

A couple of my officemates and I planned a boardgames day for Valentine’s day so we can all get together. Sadly, I rarely get to see these guys despite all of us working just floors away from each other. It was great to see and catch up with everyone again the whole afternoon and evening.

Jengga!
Jengga!

Our group planned to play a couple of boardgames that one of my friends brought with him although we did just end up playing Jengga with the set they had in the shop.

Hand brew Kenya Wakulima - Php 100
Hand brew Kenya Wakulima – Php 100

I started the afternoon out with my usual Hand brew Kenya Wakulima (Php 100). The coffee was nice and fruity with just the right amount of acidity that I have grown to love about single origins. I ordered the same cup later in the day but on ice for a more refreshing cup with the same notes that I look for in the Kenya.

Custom cocktail 1
Custom cocktail 1

After getting coffee, I usually get a cocktail or two (Php 300 for their Better Commons, i.e. standard offerings, and Php 400 for what I would like to call a “Surprise Me” cocktail) just to try new flavours that I might possibly enjoy. For my first cocktail that day, I had a mix of Bombay Sapphire Gin, sweet vermouth, chico liqueur, and a hint of chili liqueur. It was my first time to try something with chico fruit. The taste of the cocktail reminded me of santol with some tartness from the fruit and a nice kicker upper from the chili.

Gnocchi Carbonara - Php 300
Gnocchi Carbonara – Php 300

Enter first snack: Gnocchi Carbonara (Php 300). I usually get the Crispy Chickpeas (Php 180) if I’m in the mood for some snacking but they didn’t have any in stock that day. I’ve always loved their take on the classic carbonara using gnocchi and skipping on the egg. The result is an extra bacon-y dish with soft pillows of potato goodness for the bacon and parmesan strips to ride on. I’m a sucker for the amount of bacon you get with each piece.

Custom cocktail 2
Custom cocktail 2

Cocktail number two: A mix of resposado tequila, Cointreau, cacao liqueur, chili liqueur, and absinthe. I enjoyed this second cocktail much more than the first. It was sweet, sour, slightly bitter, and spicy with that very distinct absinthe flavour hitting the back of your throat to round off every sip. Ricky, the bartender, really did good with this one.

One of the many sodas you can get from EDSA all bottled and ready to drink - Php 180 a bottle
One of the many sodas you can get from EDSA all bottled and ready to drink – Php 180 a bottle
Ayen with her bottle of soda.
Ayen with her bottle of soda.

Outside of the coffee and cocktails, they also serve freshly made sodas (Php 180 a bottle). I usually get these when I want something bright and refreshing without any caffeine and/or alcohol kicking.

Leave a Reply

