StrEat: Maginhawa Food Park

Got to check out the new food truck park in our area with one of my former officemates. I’ve already seen the place in my Instagram/Facebook feed a couple of days ago so I was pretty excited to check it out when I passed by it on my way home tonight.

MexiCombi: Burritos, tacos, and nachos. I might have  the name of the truck wrong since I forgot to get a photo of the whole truck. My bad!
MexiCombi: Burritos, tacos, and nachos. I might have the name of the truck wrong since I forgot to get a photo of the whole truck. My bad!
Great Burger: As the name of their truck would suggest, they serve burgers
Great Burger: As the name of their truck would suggest, they serve burgers
The Soul Food Truck: Selling their take on soul food classics like Country Fried Steak and corndogs
The Soul Food Truck: Selling their take on soul food classics like Country Fried Steak and corndogs

The place is still pretty small. They have tables in the middle of the lot as well as a few banigs that you can use on those evenings where you would want a more relaxed, music festival-esque feel to your meal.

There are only four food trucks parked in their lot for now with space for around six more trucks. From the pictures, they had MexiCombi, Great Burger, The Soul Food Truck, and an ice cream/gelato truck. I picked two stalls that I would try out for this trip. A few random thoughts on what we ordered coming right up!

Nachos from MexiCombi. Comes with cheese sauce, ground beef and tomatoes.
Nachos from MexiCombi. Comes with cheese sauce, ground beef and tomatoes.

Nachos (Php 100)

Let’s start with the “appetizer”. We ordered nachos from the MexiCombi truck. It’s pretty hard to go wrong with nacho cheese sauce, ground beef, and tomatoes. My only real comment about it would be that he chips could have used a little toasting or crisping up. Otherwise, the nachos really aren’t that bad.

Country Fried Steak. Ayen, my dinner companion for the evening, ordered the Country Fried Chicken. The orders had our choice of meat with rice and a corn side dish.
Country Fried Steak. Ayen, my dinner companion for the evening, ordered the Country Fried Chicken. The orders had our choice of meat with rice and a corn side dish.

Country Fried Steak (Php 190) and Coke (Php 40)

Now for the main course. The meat tasted pretty much just like how I would have expected it to based solely on its looks: Fried. I would have to be honest but I have never really tried authentic soul food so this would be my first taste of it. I was expecting more spice or some kick of flavour from this but I just didn’t get that. The corn was good although what I tasted a lot of was of bellpepper and not so much corn. Rice was good.

So what's the verdict?
So what’s the verdict?

The food was actually pretty okay if you look at just the food. Once you factor the price in though, that’s when I would have second thoughts. Do I see myself spending the same amount on those dishes again? For the nachos, maybe. For the country fried steak, most probably not. The food really reminded me of dishes that I could get in my college cafeteria. Dishes that I would shell out Php 80 for.

2 thoughts on “StrEat: Maginhawa Food Park

Leave a Reply

